University of Pittsburgh

The Dickson Prize in Medicine

The Dickson Prize in Medicine is awarded annually to a leading American investigator who is engaged in innovative, paradigm-shifting biomedical research. Previous winners >

Great Science

2020 Dickson Prize Goes to James J. Collins

Prize is Pitt School of Medicine’s most prestigious annual award

James J. Collins, PhD, is the 2020 recipient of the Dickson Prize in Medicine, the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine’s highest honor. Collins is the Termeer Professor of Medical Engineering and Science and professor of biological engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is also affiliated faculty with the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard and the Wyss Institute at Harvard.

Collins is a pioneer in synthetic biology whose ideas have contributed to novel diagnostics and treatments targeting infections and complex diseases. Using engineering principles to design and construct synthetic gene networks, he was one of the first to harness the biochemical and biophysical properties of nucleic acids and proteins to create biological circuits.

Choosing the Winners

Committee Members

View a list of the Pitt faculty members on the Dickson Prize in Medicine Committee. >


Contact Us

401 Scaife Hall
3550 Terrace Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15261
Phone: 412-383-7382

Eyes on the Prize

Winning Medal Performance

Who is the hairy Greek depicted on the Dickson Prize in Medicine medal? What's on the reverse side?
Why is half of the medal’s ribbon green and the other half blue and gold?
Read more >